Clear 29°C

History of the Oud

The oud is one of the oldest stringed instruments, dating back to the era of Akad (2350 BCE). It is closest to the spirit and conscience of humans and has become since then associated with Arab culture and traditions.

Oud has been man’s companion in his journey through thousands of years, adapting to various eras and routes. It acted as an ambassador to the cultures of the world, and man’s spiritual translator when addressing other people. It had a big place within Arab Islamic civilisation and was considered its most important musical instrument. Arab philosophers like al-Farabi, al-Kindi, lbn Sina, Amawi and others have built their theories of music around the oud. Arab history knew many varied and distinguished oud players, and their experiences formed the known musical schools, such as Ibn Sarij, Ziryab and others.

Since the Arab conquest of Andalusia, oud also played a major role in the development of Western music. This important musical influence goes back to Ziryab (b. 160 AH/777 CE; d. 238 AH/852 CE), who  was the head of singers in Andalusia, the sheikh of oud players and one of the main inventors of this instrument. Thanks to him, it was possible for the art of oud to spread and develop.

 

Quick Contact

ABU DHABI MUSIC

PO Box 94000,
Abu Dhabi UAE
Tel: +971 2 444 0444,
Fax: +971 2 444 0400,
E-mail: info@abudhabiclassics.ae

Toll free number in the UAE: 800 555

Follow @AbuDhabiMusic

Stay up to date with news and events
{{'GIVEFEEDBACK' | translate}}

{{ 'HOWDOUFEEL' | translate }}

{{'EASEOFUSE' | translate}}
{{'ANSRIT' | translate}}
{{'PERFORMANCE' | translate}}
{{'ANSRIT' | translate}}
{{'CLARITY' | translate}}
{{'ANSRIT' | translate}}

{{'TELLUSMORE' | translate}}

{{'VALIDNAME' | translate}}
{{'VALIDMAIL' | translate}}
{{'VALIDNO' | translate}}

Abu Dhabi

{{'THANKS' | translate}}

{{'HASERROR' | translate}}

{{'APPRECIATE' | translate}}

تاريخ آلة العود


يعتبر العود من أقدم الآلات الوترية، إذ يعود تاريخه إلى العهد الأكادي (2350 قبل الميلاد). وهو أقرب الآلات الموسيقية إلى الروح والوجدان الإنساني، وقد ارتبط منذ ذلك الحين بصلةٍ وثيقة مع الثقافة والتقاليد العربية.

وكان العود لآلاف السنين رفيقاً دائماً للإنسان في أسفاره؛ حيث استقطب مختلف الأعمار. كما لعب دور السفير بين مختلف ثقافات العالم، وأصبح المترجم الروحي للإنسان في تعامله مع الآخرين. وحظيَ العود بمكانة كبيرة في الحضارة العربية الإسلامية، فكان يعتبر أهم آلاتهم الموسيقية. وقد بنى العديد من الفلاسفة العرب أمثال: الفارابي، والكندي، وابن سينا، وغيرهم نظرياتهم الموسيقية حول آلة العود. ويزخر التاريخ العربي بالعديد من عازفي العود البارزين وتجاربهم التي أسست للمدارس الموسيقية التي نعرفها اليوم، ومنهم: ابن سريج، وزرياب، وغيرهما الكثير.

ومنذ فتح العرب للأندلس، لعب العود دوراً محورياً كذلك في تطوير الموسيقى الغربية. ويعود الفضل في هذا للموسيقي زرياب (ولد عام 160ﻫــ/777م، وتوفي عام 238ﻫــ/852م)، والذي كان كبير المغنيين في الأندلس، وشيخ العوّادين، وأحد المخترعين الرئيسيين لآلة العود الذي له الفضل الكبير في انتشارها وتطورها.